2013-14 Season Preview: Norris Trophy Predictions

1 of 7

There are only 4 active players who have had their hands on the Norris Trophy, which was basically perennially in the possession of Nicklas Lidstrom for the better part of the 2000’s.  Besides Lidstrom and Scott Niedermayer, only Zdeno Chara, Duncan Keith, Erik Karlsson and P.K. Subban have managed to win the Norris one time each since 1990’s turned to 2000.

Jun 15, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Montreal Canadiens defenseman P.K. Subban poses with the Norris Trophy during the first intermission of game two of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Boston Bruins at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

There is an ever-increasing number of players that are forcing their way into contention for the title of league’s best blueliner, and in many cases some very different types of defenseman are vying for the honour.

That being said, as difficult as it was to narrow it down, here are my 5 top contenders for this year’s Norris Trophy