Early Predictions For Rookie Of The Year – Tyler Toffoli Will Win Calder

4 of 7

3. Nathan MacKinnon – COLORADO AVALANCHE

Jun 30, 2013; Newark, NJ, USA; Number one overall draft pick Nathan MacKinnon to the Colorado Avalanche poses for a photo during the 2013 NHL Draft at the Prudential Center. Mandatory Credit: Ed Mulholland-USA TODAY Sports

Since Mario Lemieux in 1984-85, only 3 first overall draft picks have gone on to win the Calder Trophy, and only 1 of those (Patrick Kane) won it the year after they were drafted (Alex Ovechkin had to wait a year to play due to the 2oo4-05 lockout), and Bryan Berard (did not play in the NHL the year he was drafted).  MacKinnon has a good shot to join the select company.