Around The Boards: July 10th – The Hall Of Fame Edition


There wasn’t any big names that signed yesterday but the NHL has added some names to its hall of fame.

Jun 27, 2013; New York, NY, USA; NHL vice president of hockey and business development and director of player safety

Brendan Shanahan

arrives at the Westin Hotel for the NHL Board of Governors meeting. Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

  • In terms of signings, the following players put ink to paper:  Richard Bachman, Nick Johnson,  Mike Moore,  Greg Rallo,  Cam Janssen, David Leggio and Matt Watkins. None of the contracts exceeded $625,000, which went to former Dallas Star Richard Bachman, now a Edmonton Oiler.
  • The NHL added 5 names to its hall of fame in, Scott NiedermayerChris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Fred Shero and Geraldine Heaney. Niedermayer and Chelios were first ballot entries. Shanahan had to wait a year to enter the hall because the group last year was filled with such great players. Fred Shero led the Flyers to back to back Stanley Cups in 1974-1975, he coached for 10 years and was the first recipient of the Jack Adams award in 1974. Heany, played defense for Canada, becomes just the third female to be inducted into the hall of fame after leading team Canada to seven World Championships and a gold medal at the Olympics in 2002.
  • The Colorado Avalanche have signed their first overall pick, Nathan MacKinnon to a three-year, entry-level contract.