SenShot’s NHL Awards Preview: Lady Byng Memorial Trophy


With the NHL Awards to be handed out during the Stanley Cup Finals this year, SenShot will look at one award each day and predict the winner and also make our own pick based on the votes from our three writers.  Up first is the one that players are almost embarrassed at times to win, the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

AWARDED TO: ” The player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” –

VOTED ON BY: Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.


PATRICK KANEPatrick Kane spent just 8 minutes in the penalty box this season, while finishing 5th in NHL scoring with 55 points for the first place Chicago Blackhawks.  Kane is a first time nominee for this award.

MATT MOULSON – Nominated for the second straight season, Matt Moulson was a big part in the Islanders’ return to the playoffs, scoring 15 goals and 44 points while taking just 2 minor penalties.

MARTIN ST. LOUIS – A two-time winner of the Lady Byng, Martin St. Louis took 14 minutes in penalties, while leading the league in scoring for the Tampa Bay Lightning.


Apr 24, 2013; Tampa, FL, USA; Tampa Bay Lightning right wing Martin St. Louis (26) celebrates after scoring his third goal of the game against the Toronto Maple Leafs during the third period at Tampa Bay Times Forum. Tampa Bay defeated Toronto 5-2. Mandatory Credit: Douglas Jones-USA TODAY Sports

SenShot selects Martin St. Louis as the winner of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for the third time. His combination of skill and gentlemanly play has been a hallmark of his career and it isn’t changing as he gets older. Kane has altered his style of play and avoided the pointless penalties that have plagued his past, and Moulson is a future winner of the award.  But nobody combined stellar play with sportsmanship like St. Louis, who was a unanimous selection among SenShot’s writers.

HAVE YOUR SAY:  You have seen what we have had to say, now have yours: