WCSF Game 2: Red Wings Even Series In Chicago, Win 4-1


After being dominated in game one, the Red Wings came out fast in game two. Detroit played better than Chicago for the most part but after outplaying the Hawks in the first found themselves in a hole. But managed to keep up the good play and finish the night off with the win. Both clubs could not manage a goal on the power play, but it didn’t matter to the Wings as they won the even strength battle. Jimmy Howard stop 19 of 20 shots in the Red Wings victory.

May 18, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Detroit Red Wings goalie Jimmy Howard (35) makes a save as defenseman

Kyle Quincey

(left) clears the puck away from Chicago Blackhawks left wing

Brandon Saad

(20) and center

Jonathan Toews

(19) in the first period of game two of the second round of the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

The visiting team outplayed Chicago in large parts in the first  period and each teams were given the opportunity to score with the man advantage but neither were capable to do so. Slightly before Detroit were awarded a power play the Hawks were given the 1-0 lead after a Patrick Kane goal. This period was the period in which both goaltenders were busiest, but Corey Crawford‘s team was the one ahead after the first period.

The Wings were patient after knowing they outplayed the Hawks and it paid off as they scored 4 unanswered goals. Jimmy Howard was perfect after allowing the only goal he allowed in the first period.  The Wings managed to take a 2-1 after two, courtesy of Damien Brunner and Brendan Smith.

In the third period the Wings continued to apply pressure to the top seed in the West and managed to put the game out of reach for the team out of the Windy city, as Johan Franzen and Valtteri Filppula scpred the last two goals for Detroit. Brendan Smith was credited with the game winning goal but it was Henrik Zetterberg was the one to stepped up, as the Wings captain was the one who controlled the game.


  1. Henrik Zetterberg
  2. Damien Brunner
  3. Brendan Smith