Awards Week – Vezina Trophy


The masked men of the NHL step into the spotlight today as NHL Awards Week continues on SenShot.  The Vezina Trophy is “given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position”.  This award is voted on by the NHL General Managers.

The field has been narrowed to three nominees:

Roberto Luongo, VANCOUVER – Led the league in wins with 38, and set career bests in both save % and goals against average.  Luongo backstopped the Canucks to the best record in the NHL and the President’s Trophy.  This is the third Vezina nomination for Luongo.

Pekka Rinne, NASHVILLE – Backstopped the undermanned Nashville Predators to a fifth place seed in the playoffs and a first round victory, the first time in franchise history they Preds went to the second round.  His GAA of 2.12 was third among NHL regulars and his .930 SP was 2nd.

Tim Thomas, BOSTON – His 2.00 GAA and .938 SP led all regular NHL goaltenders, in what was a season for the ages for the 37 year old.  He is looking to add the 2011 Vezina to his ever-growing collection of hardware that includes the 2009 Vezina, along with the 2011 Stanley Cup and Conn Smythe Trophy.

SenShot Selects:

Tim Thomas earned 2 first place votes and 1 second place vote from SenShot.  Thomas had one of the best seasons by a goaltender in league history, which was a little surprising considering his age and the fact that Thomas lost the starting job in last year’s playoffs to Tukka Rask.



Thanks for reading and as always, comments are welcomed.

Can’t get enough of SenShot? Here are more ways to get the most info about your Ottawa Senators.

You can follow us on TwitterTony @13thforwardJared @alfieisgod and Derrick@DerrickvonBrose.

Visit our SenShot Facebook PageLike us and post comments, photos and videos.

Please visit our NHL Main PageToo Many Men On The Site.